## In Memory of Naxalbari Martyrs in Thirupanandal, Tamil Nadu

A Public Meeting was organised in Tamil Nadu remembering the Naxalbari martyrs. The Naxalbari Peasant Uprising of 1967 came to the fore like the 'Spring Thunder Roar'. Peasants and workers led by Com. Kanu Sanyal, Jangal Santal and Khokan Majumdar organized several agitations against the tea plantation owners and landlords known as jotedars. They undertook democratic programmes of distributing lands to the peasants after appropriating them from the appropriators, the landlords. Naxalbari peasants resisted attempts by the West Bengal ruling class to stop these activities. On May 25<sup>th</sup> police fired on a peaceful conference organised by the peasants in the Naxalbari village and killed 12 people of whom 11 are women and one is a child. This incident shook up the entire nation.

In 1969, under the leadership of Com. Charu Majumdar, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) was formed. The Unity Conference of the forces of Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) which were split into various revolutionary organizations falling victim to left adventurism was held in Vijayawada in 2005. Com. Kanu Sanyal was elected as the General Secretary to the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist).

This year a program to commemorate the spirit of the Naxalbari martyrs was organised in Tamil Nadu on the same date i.e, May 25<sup>th</sup>. All the speakers in the house pledged and stressed on the need to fight against the Modi government's policies of grabbing farm lands of the peasants to place them at the feet of international Capitalists.

Party leaders Com. Anbarasan Katiya (Tirupanandal), Com. Velraj (Kapisthalam), Com. Karunakaran (Ariyalur Dist.) Com. Annadurai (Tanjavur Dist.), Com. Sundara Vinayagam, Com. M.Gunalan (Secretary, State Committee, CPI (ML)) and others participated in the program. Comrade Kandaswamy proposed vote of thanks.