Building a Movement against Privatization of the Health System Call of Bihar Left Parties

Sunitha Devi (30) a poor dalit woman of Bihar went for a uterus surgery at an unregistered clinic in Muzaffarpur, Bihar in early Sep 2022. But her both kidneys were removed and stolen without her knowledge. Her health deteriorated and was taken to SKMCH Govt. hospital, Bihar. She is undergoing dialysis at SKMCH and struggling for her life. The govt. has promised for kidney transplant and financial assistance for Sunitha but 6 months passed but no initiation to arrange for kidney transplant or assistance for Sunitha which shows the insensitive and careless attitude of Govt.

Police lodged FIR against Pawan kumar, self proclaimed doctor and owner of the clinic and Chief doctor Dr R.K.Singh at Bariyarpur police station, Bihar. Owner is arrested but till now the doctor is at large.

On March 15th under the banner of vam (left) Janwadi Sangarsh Morcha demanding immediate arrest of Chief Doctor, Dr. RK Singh and for kidney transplant for Sunitha, CPI, CPI(ML), CPI(ML) New democracy, SUCI (Communist) held a picket in front of District Magistrate office, Muzaffarpur. They demanded 25 lakhs for maintenance for Sunitha and her family and to stop the loot of the poor and the irregularities of the private hospitals. A memorandum was submitted to the district magistrate for making strict management rules for private hospitals and providing health (ayushman) cards for all dalit and economically weaker section and improve the Govt. health system.

Addressing the dharna, the leaders said six months passed since the incident and Sunitha is still battling for her life. If there was proper treatment to the poor in government hospitals, this incident wouldn't have happened. The govt. has given full exemption and freedom for private hospitals to loot the people. The leaders of the left parties called for building a movement against privatization of the health system.

The picket meeting was presided over by Shambhusharan Thakur, while Ramkishore Jha, Mohd. Idreesh, Uday Chaudhary, Rudal Ram, Raja Ram, Bhupnarayan Singh, Santlal Paswan, Habib Ansari, ward members Sunil Ram, Arjun Kumar, Kashinath Sahni, among those who addressed the meeting. Ramvriksh Ram, Mohammad Yunus, Chandramohan Prasad, Ramanand Ram, Nandkishore Tiwari, Ranjan Mahato, Suresh Das Kanojia, Ashok Deshbhakt, Bachha Babu, Pooja Kumari, Sunil Thakur, Mohammad Ilyas and others participated in the dharna.