"Save Constitution-Save Democracy" Dharna, Jamshedpur

A massive Dharna was staged at Birsa Chawk, Sakshi, the centre point of Jamshedpur city on 26th November 2023 on the occasion of "Constitution Day". More than hundred participants including a good number of women holding placards in their hands highlighting the demands took part in the 3- hour Dharna attracting a huge crowd around the venue.

The Dharna was organised jointly by Dr. Ambedkar SC-ST-OBC-MINORITY Welfare Samity, Jharkhand Jantrantik Mahasabha, United Milli Forum, Ambedkar Vichar Manch and Sajha Nagrik Manch in the background of increasing attacks on the Constitutional institutions and rights of the people unleashed by Modi-Govt.

The program commenced with slogans and a pledge to save the Constitution and Democracy by reading out the "Preamble" of the "Constitution". Then, Sujoy Roy in his introductory speech described the present scenario of the country and critised the Modi-Govt. for their anti-people and pro-corporate policies. He explained how the religious minorities, dalits, adivasis, OBC along with the progressive and democratic forces are put under state repression.

The other speakers also condemned the Modi-Govt. for their onslaught on the poor and toiling people. On the one hand pro-corporate policies have been pursued-corporate tax is being reduced, Bank loans of the big houses to the tune of 12000 crores have been waived. On the other hand GST has been imposed on every essential good including food, medical, educational materials. All the constitutional institutions like RBI, CBI, ED, IT, etc. are being misutilised and black laws like UAPA and NSA are being wrongly used against the opposition voice. The organisers gave a call to overthrow the Modi-Regime in coming Lok Sabha Poll to be held in 2024.

The following were present in the Dharna-Manthan, Sujoy, Krishna Lohar, Raimul Banra, Ravindra Prasad, Sushil Kumar, Tauhidul Hasan, Deepak Ranjit, Suresh Prasad, K.N.Prajapati, Shankar Nayak, Ashok Subhadarshi, Ashok Choudhary, Ajit Tirkey, Jai Narayan Munda, Rumpa Mahato, Kumkum Prasad, Rajashree, Shyamali Roy, Tarun Varun, Sunil Bimal, Gauri Devi, Chinmay Mandal, MD.Sahid, Mustaque Jagan, Rakesh Debashish, Gautam Bose and many others also participated.